Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 11th, 2006

EQ

Today, it was actually a few days back when our manager gave us a lecture on Emotional Intelligence Quotient. To sum the matter in short, emotional intelligence is to do with how a person reacts in a situation keeping his/her emotions in control. It is said that IQ is not so important nowadays but EQ is supposed to play a bigger role in a person’s professional life and help him/her in her personal life too.

To cut a long story short, at the end of the session we were asked to write about the positive and negative aspects of all our colleagues. This could have been very suicidal and had the danger of ruining one’s relationship with others in the project. Fortunately, this was to be done anonymously.

The dead-line was last Friday however how we were not able to complete as usual. I had ofcourse submitted my observation about some of colleague on Friday. Who could miss a chance to take my badla and that too anonymously?

On a serious note, somebody also commented on me. Hum jald he saare logon ko dhoond nikalenge!

Surprisingly it was not much scandalous. According to the person my strength are

Good Relationship Management
Good level of Self comfort
Controlled behavior at all times.

Now what does that mean? I can understand the first term with respect to client but the second and third is a little difficult. What is good level of Self comfort? I guess I am comfortable with me around me? Confusing?

The second has to do with my anger. I have never got angry in office or atleast I have not shown my anger. I am a very shant bacha, you see!

That takes me to the traits that I need to improve. He/She says

Should look beyond today
Try to unleash the potential within

How could they say that I don’t look beyond today? I always look out for the weekend. I always wait for the weekend. I am counting days, hours and sometimes minutes to weekend. If that is not looking beyond today then what is? I think they mean something different about that which brings me to the second aspect of my character “Try to unleash the potential within”

I always knew that I was so much under appreciated. Now somebody has recognized that potential and sees me as the next big thing in this world. I am great, I always knew that and now somebody else knows it too.

On a serious note, the language is very similar to what I received in my appraisal. Must be my manager. Anyways the question is “Kya hum sudrenge?” Only time will tell and it all depends upon me to unleash my potentials within.

Read Full Post »